2020 Stupka Symposium

Registration for the 2020 Symposium Will Open February 1st, 2020!

April 3-4, 2020

The 15th Annual Stupka Symposium is entirely organized and run by the undergraduate students in the biochemistry, biophysics, and molecular biology areas of study. This event was the inspiration of Robert John Stupka III, an undergraduate student majoring in biochemistry at Iowa State University. Rob believed in the power of research, allowing the extraordinary to be possible, and strived to connect students and faculty for the purpose of scientific investigation.

Keynote Speakers:

Dr. Elizabeth S. Haswell

Mechanoperception in the Green Lineage
Washington University in Saint Louis

Dr. Michael Rosen

Regulation of Cellular Biochemistry by Liquid-Liquid Phase Separation
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


Tony Cyr, M.D./Ph.D.

Luke Helgeson, Ph.D.

Jacqueline Rivas, Ph.D.

Mariah Lawler-Hoye, Ph.D.

Samson Condon

Denis Tamiev

Jennifer Gribble

Lauran Chambers

Dr. Gaya Amarasinghe

Schedule overview:

To Be Announced


Registration & Poster Submission

Registration will open February 1st, 2020


Thank you to all our 2019 donors!

2017 Photo Gallery

Click to View Photos!


Consider volunteering for the event. Email us at stupkaugrs@iastate.edu to get involved.

Committee Chairs & Coordinators

Symposium Chairs: Jacqueline Ehrlich, Kayla Uthe
Secretary: Spydel Nardy
Treasurer: Laura Kurr, Emily Boettger

Sub-Committee Coordinators:

Speaker: Makayla Villela, Maddie Farringer
Alumni: Paiton McDonald, Zach Olsem
Publicity: Jacob Schmieder, Meghan Collett
Media: Sarah Zelle
Registration: Trishtin Baring, Ally Radermacher, Matt Shafer, Moises Garcia, Justyne Crawford
Operations: Immaculate Edwin
Sponsorship: Grace Trembath, Jared Sorensen
Fundraising: Ana DiSpirito
Poster: Patricia Gallardo-Carrizo, Matthew Palizzi
T-shirt: Audri Ruble, Isaac Stine
Food: Liam Campin
Volunteer: Rick Weerts

Advisers: Desi Gunning, Gustavo MacIntosh

Stupka 2020 Committee