2016 Stupka Scholars

Adrienne Smith is a junior pursuing a degree in Biochemistry with a minor in Microbiology. Her research studies the amino acids involved in substrate binding and enzymatic catalysis of the Arabidopsis protein Xyloglucan Xylosyltransferase under Olga Zabotina, Ph.D. Adrienne also serves the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology Club as the Liberal Arts and Sciences Representative and is the chair for the Speaker Committee for the Stupka Symposium. In addition, she tutors Organic Chemistry for the Hixson-Lied Academic Success Center. She plans to continue undergraduate research at Iowa State in the hopes of attending a graduate program in molecular biology.

Natalie Whitis is in her third year at Iowa State and is majoring in Biophysics. She is the Breakfast Club Chair for the BBMB Club as well as Food Chair for the Stupka Symposium. After she graduates from Iowa State she plans to attend graduate school and work towards a PhD. Then, she plans to work in academic research. Since the fall of 2014, she has been an undergraduate research assistant with the Sashital Lab studying the mechanism of the CRISPR-Cas immune system in E. coli.

Morgan Barrett is a third year undergraduate student majoring in Biochemistry and Genetics. Throughout her time at Iowa State, she has been actively involved in the Stupka Symposium Planning Committee, where she is currently Publicity Chair, and the BBMB Undergraduate Club, where she is currently Vice President. She has been an undergraduate research assistant in Dr. Eric Underbakke’s lab since spring 2014. After graduating from Iowa State, Morgan plans on pursuing further education in forensic science with the ultimate goal of working as a DNA analyst/criminalist.