2022 Stupka Symposium

We are proud to present the 16th Annual Stupka Undergraduate Research Symposium on April 7th, 2022.
The symposium will be held in-person as conditions permit.

April 7, 2022

The 16th Annual Stupka Symposium is entirely organized and run by the undergraduate students in the biochemistry, biophysics, and molecular biology areas of study. This event was the inspiration of Robert John Stupka III, an undergraduate student majoring in biochemistry at Iowa State University. Rob believed in the power of research, allowing the extraordinary to be possible, and strived to connect students and faculty for the purpose of scientific investigation.



Registration is now closed

Donate Today!

Keynote Speakers:

Dr. Elizabeth Haswell

Washington University in Saint Louis

Dr. Jason McLellan

University of Texas at Austin


Dr. Justin Miller

Washington University in Saint Louis

Schedule overview:

Thursday April 7, 2022

Breakfast 9:00 AM
Alumni Reception and Light lunch 11:00 AM
Keynote Lunch (Dr. Jason McLellan) 11:50 AM
Keynote Lunch (Dr. Elizabeth Haswell) 12:50 PM
Poster Session 1 2:00 PM
Poster Session 2 3:00 PM
Welcome 4:00 PM
Student Speaker – Cheng Ern Yap 4:10 PM
Keynote – Dr. Jason McLellan 4:30 PM
Student Speaker – Kathryn Butterfield 5:20 PM
Break 5:40 PM
Student Speaker – Paiton McDonald 5:50 PM
Alum Speaker – Dr. Justin Miller 6:10 PM
Keynote – Dr. Elizabeth Haswell 6:30 PM
Poster Awards 7:20 PM
Dinner 7:25 PM

See the complete schedule for more details and session links.


Registration & Poster Submission

Register Today!

2019 Photo Gallery

Click to View Photos!

Alumni Reunion Guest List

Coming Soon!

Committee Chairs & Coordinators

Stupka 2022 Chairs
Fourth row: Braden Lewis, Kevin Beaghan, Prescott Jeckel, Brandon Magnuson, Matthew Shafer, Stone Sinnett, Emily Boettger (Advisor)
Third row: Claire Kruesel (Advisor), Patricia Gallardo, Ajla Muheljic, Charlie Beaver, Michelle Morford, Kathryn Wittrock, Ciaran Kelly, Alexandra Radermacher
Second row: Karen Romero-Bello, Courtney Olson, Liam Campin, Jenna Courey, Avani Laharia, Karsten Theilen
Front row: Tulika Sharan (Co-Chair), Paiton McDonald (Co-Chair)
Not Pictured: Gustavo Macintosh (Advisor), Wanming Dai, Tisha Vanden Bosch, Grace Hatchitt, Anna Schwake, Kaitlyn Sellon, Brodrick Sevark, Zoe Rodriguez