2021 Stupka Symposium

We are proud to present the 15th Annual Stupka Undergraduate Research Symposium on April 9th and 10th, 2021. This year’s symposium will be held virtually. All events will be available on Zoom. We continue to carefully consider options to ensure the safety of all participants. We are so thankful for all students, alumni, faculty, mentors, speakers, and presenters who continue to be patient and supportive while we adapt to and optimize the new format. Whether in-person or virtually, we are excited to see you at the 2021 Stupka Symposium.

April 9-10, 2021

The 15th Annual Stupka Symposium is entirely organized and run by the undergraduate students in the biochemistry, biophysics, and molecular biology areas of study. This event was the inspiration of Robert John Stupka III, an undergraduate student majoring in biochemistry at Iowa State University. Rob believed in the power of research, allowing the extraordinary to be possible, and strived to connect students and faculty for the purpose of scientific investigation.



Keynote Speakers:

Dr. Gaya Amarasinghe

Viral Immune Evasion Mechanisms
Washington University in Saint Louis

Dr. Jeff Karp

Drug Delivery, Medical Devices and Tissue Adhesives
Harvard Medical School

Dr. Elizabeth Sattely

Human Reliance on Plants and Plant-Derived Molecules
Stanford University


Dr. Samson Condon

Dr. Tony Cyr

Tyler Gilbreath

Jennifer Gribble

Dr. Luke Helgeson

Dr. Jacqueline Rivas

Dr. Mariah Hoye

Denis Tamiev

Schedule overview:

Friday April 9, 2021

Student Interactions 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Poster Sessions 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Welcome 4:00 PM
Speaker / Keynote Sessions

4:10 PM – 7:15 PM

Saturday April 10, 2021

Opening Remarks 9:30 AM
Speaker / Keynote Sessions 9:45 AM – 12:45 PM
Closing Remarks 12:45 PM
Alumni Social 3:00 – 5:00 PM

See the complete schedule for more details and session links.


Registration & Poster Submission

Registration Now Open!

2019 Photo Gallery

Click to View Photos!

Alumni Reunion Guest List

Click to Add Your Name!

Committee Chairs & Coordinators

Stupka 2021 Chairs

Symposium Chairs: Ana DiSpirito, Emily Boettger
Secretary: Patricia Gallardo-Carrizo
Treasurer: Paiton McDonald
Treasurer Understudy: Kevin Beaghan

Sub-Committee Coordinators:

Speaker: Maddie Farringer, Tulika Sharan
Alumni: Grace Trembath, Jenna Courey
Publicity: Meghan Collett, Jacob Schmieder
Media: Zach Olsem
Registration: Sarah Grambo
Operations: Grace Trembath, Paiton McDonald, Zach Olsem, Kathryn Wittrock
Sponsorship: Jared Sorensen, Ally Radermacher
Fundraising: Liam Campin
Poster: Matt Shafer
T-shirt: Rick Weerts
Food: Sarah Banta

Advisers: Desi Gunning, Gustavo MacIntosh